evangs1

The History of Project Terra

8 posts in this topic

It's actually kind of sad that I have to do something like this, but here goes!

I am fairly new to PT.  I registered in November of 2014.  Since seeing this game die and people making references to Alpha, and pre-Beta, it makes me want to know what really happened.  Because this game is almost dead, and there are few community members left, I want to put the history of Project Terra into the history books forever, while I can.

So what do YOU have to contribute?

Please post anything related to the history of PT, Alpha mechanics, developer politics, PT being hacked, etc. 

New and old players alike need to know these things, so don't be afraid to share!

In the beginning there was effort of development, but all has been lost to the mists of time...

In the beginning there was effort of development, but all has been lost to the mists of time...

That sounds like a good ending to my novel!

Found this link here:

When the game was first infiltrated, it was closed to protect those who had not been hacked. Chris decided that this was a prime oppurtunity to recode the game into Beta, and gave October as an estimate for the date of completion. However: he encountered bumps along the way.

In Iris' words: "Chris informed me, and the rest of the team, that 6 weeks was a conservative estimate. Hence, Chris posted an October estimate. In the weeks following, we felt confident that we would make the proposed deadline. Once we did get to that fateful day, however, it was apparent that the game was not close to ready. The development team simply hadn't had enough time and severely underestimated the time it would take to complete the game. By the time November came around, we had another discussion with Chris about the game's release. While we didn't want to set another arbitrary deadline for fear of missing it yet again, we also did not want to leave the community absolutely uninformed."